Compliments

It’s always hard to believe the compliments that leaders give during the milonga. They sound so sincere, but isn’t that part of the ritual for so many people? That’s why I love the other little moments when I feel like I can believe it:

• When a leader cabeceos me over and over for the same orchestra or genre

• When a follower who also leads compliments my dancing after a tanda together

• When a follower tells me that her husband thinks I’m the best dancer in town

• When an acquaintance tells me that a visiting teacher called me “the future of [our city]”

• When my favorite leader gets an extra gleam in his eye and grins all the way back to our seats

I hold onto these little moments. I still enjoy the compliments I get from leaders throughout the milonga, but these feel extra special. They keep me going even when I’m feeling frustrated and ready to run away and become a salsa dancer.

