Body v. Brain

I spend a lot of time in my head. I’m fairly cerebral and possibly too rational for my own good. I am also self-employed, which makes it easy to get very self-involved. This is why I love to dance—it gets me out of my head and into my body.

Twice a week, I teach contemporary ballet to adults. It is a recreational class, so I do my best to enjoy it along with my students. Almost every day that I teach, I wonder why I’m doing it. I think about how I could just stay at home, behind my computer, and work there. So I drag my feet. And then I get to class.

Not only do I love teaching, I also love ballet. I have danced ballet longer than any other dance form (i.e. almost my entire life), and it lives in me. Even after I decided not to try to become a professional, I still felt it in my bones. I’m not perfect. Far from it! But I love it, inside and out. And for an hour, twice a week, I get to leave the rest of my life at the door and just dance.

After starting tango, I neglected most other forms of dance. I still took the occasional modern class, or went out salsa dancing now and then, but mostly I focused on tango. I love how tango allows me to let go and share the present with my leader. But you know, the best part of a ballet class is how you can walk in and leave everything and everyone else behind. It isn’t about the other person; it’s about you. It’s about you moving in space to the music. And as the teacher, I get to decide exactly how we are going to move.

It is therapeutic and fun. And despite my foot-dragging, it is incredibly good for me. Every day I teach, I come home glowing!

