Have a little fun

“I have no idea what you did there, but it was beautiful!”
“I have no idea what I did, either!”

I love that experience in tango where you relax and your partner relaxes and things just flow. Where the leader does things without thinking about them, because he hears something in the music and knows that the follower will go with it. I love being surprised by something that feels perfectly right. The kind of surprise that makes you go, “mmmm.” I also love feeling free to follow whatever it is I feel from my leader and, even if that means doing something that he did not expect, knowing that he will find me and continue on. I love that leader-follower trust and comfort and respect, and the meditative trance that follows.

I also love just plain having fun. Like the leader who literally jumped onto the dance floor to start a milonga tanda, after which I just had to scoot away from him with tiny, quick steps. After an intro like that, we let ourselves have some good, silly fun. There is nothing like completely sincere, joyful laughter to remind me that we don’t have to take ourselves so seriously all the time. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Have a little fun

  1. Gosh yesterday on my blog I wrote that quote: Angels can fly because they can take themselves lightly.
    I love that. Keep flying Modern Tanguera…

    SC

  2. Hi MT,
    I had a similar experience last night at a milonga. Moves I’d never tried before just kept flowing between myself and the leader. Such a high – and the perfect antidote to the Monday morning blues!

Comments are closed.