Tango clothes

Pantina posted a poll recently about what tanguer@s prefer to wear for dancing. I am usually fairly low-maintenance when it comes to tango clothing: I often just pick out a colorful top (usually a basic tank top) and pair it with darker gaucho pants or a skirt. I spend more time thinking about what earrings to wear!

That is not to say that I don’t enjoy mixing things up. I love my dresses, and lately I have been more into dressing up with them. (It helps that the skirts & dresses tend to draw more compliments on my feet and legs! I am not immune to such things.) I have definitely seen some Tangoleva dresses and skirts that I like, but my pockets are not deep enough to invest so much in clothes for tango. I have to reserve my funds for the more occasional purchases of shoes.

It is much more fun to have a wider collection of clothes to play around with. I have been somewhat restrained lately, but I am a huge fan of thrift store shopping. Hunting around for something unique and cheap. It allows me to grow my wardrobe at a faster rate! And I have come up with some great dresses that way. It’s the best fix for new shoes that demand different colored outfits. 😉 My favorite store: The Goodwill that is about halfway between the office and home. I drive by it every weekday evening, and it’s open until 8 p.m. Killer. It always feels so amazing to find a beautiful dress for under $10. There are some other thrift stores that I also adore, but I get to them less often.

I know I have said it before, but I really enjoy that tango is a place where I can get all dolled up and girly. I don’t often take the time to do that elsewhere, especially living in such a laid-back, casual city. It’s nice to have an excuse to put on a pretty dress. It’s also nice when the guys put in similar effort. I have never turned someone down for wearing a t-shirt and jeans, but there is something so pleasant about a button-down shirt and slacks…

5 thoughts on “Tango clothes

  1. I started tango lessons in winter so wearing a dress or three-quarter length pants was not ideal.Now that spring is here, I am looking forward to showing a little bit of ankle 🙂

  2. You have just inspired me to hit some thrift shops. Now that I am officially no longer a plus sized tanguera shopping for clothes is a lot more fun (and varied)!!

    I’ll let you know if I make any great fashion finds.

    -Pantina

  3. Your blog keeps getting better and better! Your older articles are not as good as newer ones you have a lot more creativity and originality now keep it up!

Comments are closed.