Movement for movement’s sake

I haven’t danced tango since … Saturday night at a party.

In the real world, that isn’t very long. But we all know that the tango world is a different deal, and for me that is a decent break. It puts me at one milonga (Friday, because I never miss it) and no practicas for this week. I have to say, 2.5 months of milongas without my favorite leader makes even a good tango night feel a bit empty. I was too mentally tired to go out to our cozy milonga last night and opted for a 2.5 mile run instead.

Right now I feel like attending a practica. Ironically (because I think most people look for this in milongas), I want to go for the pure joy of dancing. Not the socializing, the codigos, the cabeceo, the dressing up, the tango nirvana that exist in the milongas. No, I want to go and dance the mechanics of tango. I want to experiment and play and learn from other dancers. I want to laugh and be silly. I want to grab my favorite practice partner and examine our dancing from different angles. I might even want to make another attempt at leading.

Have you ever felt like this? It isn’t that I dislike milongas, but right now I just want the relaxed and playful atmosphere, the movement- and technique-focused goals of a practica.

2 thoughts on “Movement for movement’s sake

  1. I love practicas. I have fun, I learn, I wear casual clothes and even sneakers! Sometimes the milonga feels like work a little bit. It’s funny that it is like that for us, because you would think that the practica would be the work, and the milonga would be the play…

Comments are closed.