Optimism

I miss practicing. I need to find a way to get myself to one of the other practicas in town, because I have little hope for a timely return of the practica I used to attend. I am getting to a point where I crave certain kinds of improvement: a smoother walk, being more grounded (in a particular way that came up in that private I took), relaxed shoulders, etc. Many of these require a patient leader. I can’t do them on my own, and I can’t focus on committing these things to muscle memory if I am concentrating on the newest trick he wants to learn. But right now I am not doing anything except dancing a couple times a week. It is nice, but I crave more.

I am excited and impatient. With all things. I see a lot on the horizon, and not all are dance-related. We have a festival coming up, I have new shoes on their way, I see potential for improving my dancing (because it may take me a while to get to a practica, but that idea is in my head and won’t go away until I pay attention to it). I will begin training for a new job soon, we have an exciting concert at work this week and another good one for the spring, etc. Life is good and looks to keep getting better.

And in this glow of optimism, I share this photo from the milonga last weekend. Besos.

2 thoughts on “Optimism

  1. I am always fascinated by your drive to be better, faster. It is the antithesis of Tango, which is mastered only with time. Did I say “mastered”? Tango is a process, not a goal 🙂

  2. I think it is because I am well aware of things that I could improve. It’s funny, in other dances I am happy to make slower progress, knowing that eventually I will get there. But with tango it is like I crave those improvements constantly. Not that I don’t take great pleasure in my dancing at any given moment, but when I sit back outside of the milonga and think about it I just see all the possibilities …

Comments are closed.