Toronto

I am finally home, after a frustrating airport experience. (It was pointed out to me that I have a horde of entertaining stories derived from travel gone wrong. I love to travel, but the transportation – especially air travel – never seems to go my way!)

I have to thank the lovely people I met in Toronto. I didn’t have much time there, but I made it to a milonga on Sunday and the U of T practica on Monday. And I stand by my claim that if you need a self-esteem boost, just go dancing out of town. I don’t know if it is by virtue of being someone new and different or what, but it feels so good to receive compliments when traveling.

I have to extend compliments, as well. I met some incredibly kind and interesting people and some very nice dancers. I noticed something of a variety of styles going on, which was fun. Good music, too. And I had many dances with my very favorite leader, whose absence from home makes the milongas somewhat less exciting. He even put up with some of my nearing-exasperation energy at one point in the practica, before I let go of the reins and allowed the practice to flow a little more naturally.

Good times. Now I am home and plotting a good costume for the Halloween milonga on Friday.

