¡Feliz cumpleaños!

Today is my day to celebrate one of the most influential men in my life: Happy Birthday, Dad! He patiently sat through hours of other little girls dancing to see me on stage for a few minutes. He bought me ballet slippers, jazz shoes, tap shoes, pointe shoes, leotards, tights, dance pants, costumes. He paid for countless classes after realizing that his baby girl wasn’t just going through a dance phase.

And he taught me how to polka.

I don’t think I can make it through a visit to see my parents without embracing my dad, sharing a little twinkle in our eyes, and breaking out into a “brrrrum pum pum” that flings us around whatever space we’re standing in. It is the most gleeful dance I know how to do.

My dad hasn’t seen me dance tango yet, but he will, eventually. And then I’ll pull him onto the floor for a polka!

