Otra?

When I have fun and challenging work to do, I dive into it and am a valuable, productive employee. When I am tasked with dull, repetitive, monkey work, I spend all day reading dance blogs (and the news), and thinking, and writing. I already wrote a full post about leading, but I will keep you in suspense and wait until tomorrow to post it. 😉

For now, a tidbit about technique: While practicing last night, I figured out back sacadas. I have been able to do them before now, but they weren’t always successful or clean. Last night, I learned the follower’s trick: Think about the back sacada like a back step in a molinete. Previously, I had been pivoting as far as the leader took me and then just stepping comfortably. If he pivoted me enough, I would sacada him … but it usually felt a little lackluster. Last night I completed the pivot, stepped back as if in a molinete, and *bam* there was the sacada. Clean, confident, beautiful. We worked on recognizing the sacada lead (versus just an overturned ocho without the sacada), and (*gasp*) how I can request a sacada when the leader isn’t asking me for it. When I do it confidently and clearly, it works so well. Beautiful! I love practicing, for these moments where I find that last little piece that makes a step go from just happening to really working.

3 thoughts on “Otra?

  1. Hola mod…To me this is one of those instances where the follower takes over the lead (which is different from a follower leading).In the follower’s back sacada, as well as the back step (and all steps) in the molinete, the follower must STEP with energy and precision. She must switch to conscious though about her foot placement in relation to the leader’s foot and STEP. This is one of the most frustrating elements for me, because I can’t convey to the follower (feedback) how she must step with energy – TAKE the step, DO the step.In frustration, I just never lead them.Congrats on your breakthrough…

  2. Haha, I tend to distinguish the part of my job that I enjoy and the part that makes me feel like nothing more than an “office monkey”. Glad someone else enjoys the image. 😉Interestingly, I can’t remember ever doing a back sacada with someone I haven’t practiced it with. I don’t think very many followers think about the truly *active* role that they can play, in cases such as this. I don’t know that it’s so much the follower taking over the lead (although she can) as it is the follower being assertive when asked to do so. But practicing with a follower could help her recognize that lead, that request that she assert herself.

Comments are closed.