¡Bienvenidos!

A little less than a year ago, I fell into tango. At the time, I did not realize the hold it would soon have over my life. Not even a year after I began learning, tango has become a major part of my dance life (which previously had very little space for social dancing) as well as my social life. It gave me self-confidence and provided a space for me to heal emotional wounds. It challenged my preconceived notions about what kind of dancer I was. It has given me a community of amazing dancers and, more importantly, loving and caring people. Tango has also introduced me to a particularly important person in my life. I find it hard to imagine what my life was like a year ago, when I did not even suspect the love and addiction that tango was about to grip me with.

I plan on keeping this journal anonymous, or at least as anonymous as is possible in such a close-knit community. I plan to reflect on my first year with tango and continue keeping track of where this beautiful and demanding dance takes me. I know that there are many tango blogs out there, but this one is for me. I would love to hear reactions, thoughts, challenges to the way I think about this dance and my experiences with it.

